top of page

Down the road from Times Square

The first night in Times Square was overwhelming, and yet I was underwhelmed... but now it's beginning to grow on me.


Let me explain. So, on our second night at ESM the team took us out into the city. We were all really excited because we had only seen it in the movies. When we arrived all I could see were flashing lights and illusive patterns and I felt like I was about to have an epileptic fit... ok, I'm exaggerating a little bit but it was just crazy!


Anything bolted to these buildings was meaningless. Everything they were trying to sell in these ads meant absolutely nothing and that was the underwhelming factor of it all.

Times Square wasn't all it was made out to be, until it started to grow on me.

At first I was taken back from the ads that were thrown in my face. Then I went during the day when the lights weren't so intense and I could actually start to absorb the atmosphere and begin to appreciate New York and the people within it. This city is known for being close to the top of the majority of bucket lists and it's amazing to see the vast diversity of people it brings together, including the exceptionally different characters!

Everyone has their own story.”

The more I explore New York and the more I get to know the people within it my appreciation for this city and the people it attracts continues to grow. Everyone has their own story and when you hear them out you can learn so many things about this place, and the kinds of people who live here. And that's part of the mission- meeting people where they are at, loving them with the love I've received from Christ, and thanking Him for calling me to live in a crazy part of this beautiful world with other incredible missionaries.

 

bottom of page