top of page

Pilgrimage through France: Paray le Monial, Lyon and Paris.

My heart was so full of joy that it made me cry. To see members of the Emmanuel Community come together from all continents of the world was deeply moving.

This photo is terrible but hardly anyone took photos because we were all absorbed in the spirit of the retreat. This was the best photo I could get that captured 1800 people singing and raising their hands in praise to God for all he has done.

“I had never met so many people who were on fire for their faith; to continue the mission of Christ."

Every Christian is called in their own way and some ways are more radical than others. Being on mission in a foreign country is not a call for everyone. Most people are called to simply love and share the love of God within their families, among work colleagues and among people we meet everyday in our ordinary lives. It's so simple but these people really inspired me to live this when I return back to ESM, and more importantly when I return home back to Australia.


Lyon

At ESM we have what's called household. Basically, we have a weekly meeting with a small group and we share something that God has been saying to us, how we have evangelised or shown compassion. Together, we support each other and pray for each other to grow in a life of love and love for the mission. These are the beautiful women in my household!


A glimpse of my experience when staying with host families in France ...

 

Paris

This was the divider that separated the shared bedroom from the bathroom. You could really feel the bond of sisterhood strengthen after these home visits!

Classic tourist shots.



Aftermath of the pilgrimage. Buggered at Paris airport, except for Domitille keeping up the joyful spirits!

bottom of page